It was a summer afternoon last year, when I told my mother that I want to study in the US. “But what about your IIT dream?” I couldn’t answer that question. But my mom agreed on that. But that question is still in my mind. Why US? Well, I can do my undergraduate from India as well, and then I can go there for my majors. But still, I don’t want to do minors in India.

After thinking on it from last year, I finally got my answer. Well, you can’t say it’s an answer, actually it’s a list of reasons. Every time I think of this list, my self-confidence boosts up. This is the list of reasons.

The first, and the obvious one is, US has one of the best education system in the world. I haven’t seen any other system like this anywhere in the world. This really fascinates me, and boosts up my confidence. They have better usage of technology, unlike Indian universities, who still use paper and pen. My sister studies in one of them, called The University of Mumbai. It’s one of the best universities in India, but still it’s ancient in front of those American ones. Still, she wastes tons of sheets writing material, that ultimately goes to the garbage.

The second reason why I want to study in US is I will have an experience of a life time. You see, I have never been apart from my family and friends for such a long time. Doing everything by yourself, in a foreign land. It provides confidence, it gives you a glimpse into the life which is waiting for you outside the college campus. It teaches you how you can tackle problems. It’s the best experience one can have.

The third and a bit hilarious reason is, I like burgers very much! You can’t even think, how much I like burgers! Now you will ask, why I want to go to US for burgers if they are available here in India as well. Well, my answer will be: Some questions don’t have any answers. The reasons only makes sense to the person who creates them. Hope you understood. There would have been a situation in your life where you gave your friends/family/parents a reason and they couldn’t really make sense out of it. It only makes sense to you. So, it’s your life, your reasons, and to put the cherry on the cake, they make sense to YOU!

The fourth reason is my hunger of knowing people from diverse cultures. And what better place than US? Great economy, great education system, great facilities. Everything! Awesome to be there! Making friends from different countries, it just makes me gear up for it!

Well, yeah, that’s it. These are the reasons why I want to go to the US. If you have any questions to ask, just pour them in via comments. Hope you liked my post. Thanks for reading! :)

Photo credits: Project Motion – Flag in the Breeze by Elaron, on Flickr.

