Formal education can make you a living; self-education can make you a fortune.

I will kill myself if you’ll say that you haven’t heard of this quote (unless you are from Mars, that is). But tell me seriously, how many of you really stick to this? None, I know.

People are aware of this very well, it doesn’t even need any explanation, but still it is ignored. We still choose the career based on our studies. You would say “So? Everyone does that, that’s how it has been.” What? “It has been”? Please, at least a valid explanation?

Yes, each and every one does that – If I am good at science, I will be an engineer or a doctor. But why not a graphic designer? If I am good at accounting and business I will take commerce and be an accountant or something like that. But why not a programmer? And if I am good at arts, well everyone knows what parents say.

Here, people don’t want to take “risk”. Risk? Why? Afraid of failures that can make you strong? And yes, I would like to talk about this failure shit more. Right from when we go to our school, we are taught that we should get good grades, and not get failed in any subject. Fair enough. But this teaching goes far more beyond those teachers and parents think. Slowly and slowly, children become afraid of getting failed in whatever they do and those teachers too (that’s why they are teaching, duh!).

Schools are jails that have been glorified in the name of education. Seriously, you are taught to never break discipline, never ever do anything that is “in-disciplined”, never ever getting out of the math and science (read: junk) to think something more creative like dance or music. I agree dance and music have been included in many schools, but is it taught everyday like science or math? Think about it.

Those people who are making a fortune (read: billionaires) are not doing what they learnt in school. Seriously, do you know a scientist who is a billionaire and enjoys holidays at Bahamas? Or take an ordinary man, who goes at work in the morning and comes at night without anything to be proud of? Isn’t a bad lifestyle you would say, but you all will still do that!

Change is what is needed. Change in education as well as a drastic change in this crappy mindset of people.

Here as an awesome way of telling the same from my friend King Sidharth on his new blog – Education Killed 956 Entrepreneurs.

Please, and I mean PLEASE share your views via comments, I would love to read them!

Photo credits: For the Love of Money by Pacdog, on Flickr.